One primary key referencing two foreign keys in same table

madslp

This topic is 2874 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi,

I'm new to both building databases and Filemaker, but am trying to set up a simple database for managing transactions. Currently I have two tables, 'Company' and 'Transaction'. To avoid duplicates I have tried to store information about both buyer and seller in the Company table, i.e. one primary key referencing two foreign keys in the same table. So I've used Company_ID as the primary key in the Company table and link this to two foreign keys (Buyer_ID and Seller_ID) in the Transaction table. This is where the problem arises. I am not able to access any information in the Company table from the Buyer_ID or Seller_ID. This only works if I use only one foreign key, but then I only get information about either buyer or seller. I have also tried to create a copy of the Company table, and then link from Company1 to Buyer_ID and Company2 to Seller_ID, but that didn't work for the layout showing details about each company (it would only show transactions where the company was buyer if associated with the original company table etc.). 

If my problem is at all comprehensible, any ideas on how to solve it?

Skjermbilde 2016-09-12 kl. 16.00.35.png

Edited by madslp

Hi there, thanks for entrusting your future success with your database to this community!

You need to have two occurrences of your 'Company' table in the graph. The transaction table then becomes a join table, effectively pulling together two companies into a single transaction.

Depending on the context of the layout that you then create, you will be able to access the transaction information, buyer details and seller details from any layout based on the 'Transactions' table. Layouts based on one or the other of the 'Customer' tables will be able to see all transactions that relate to them as a buyer, or as a seller.