Creation of flexible form in filemaker

Sam0316

This topic is 2704 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello everyone, i am new to filemaker. Now i would like to find a way to create a flexible form in filemaker. 

Here is part of my form,

Education

Hobbies

extracurricular activities

The users sometimes may skip one of the part in the form and leave it blank, they would like to clean up the form. For example, if they don't enter data in hobbies field. the extra-curricular activities field will move upwards automatically.

i have considered the slide function in filemaker, but in my form design, the sub-title(education/hobbies...) is enclosed in a box so it will not shrink which equals the size of the field.

Are there any methods i could use to create a flexible form? Is web viewer a better way to create the form?

Hi Sam

FileMaker doesn't have a facility to make objects move in Browse mode based on whether or not other fields have content in. If you switch to Preview mode (or Print) then you can use the 'Sliding Objects' feature which does have this effect, but only in Preview.

If you have a relatively few combinations then you could create a different layout for each scenario ('Education is filled in, Hobbies is not, Extracurricular is filled' would be one scenario, there would be six in total) or even have a single layout with a slide panel with six slides, and use triggers on the fields to move to the correct slide to show only the scenario that applies.

It's all fairly clunky though and I generally just accept that the fields I place on layouts are fixed for a given window size, and design the solution around that.

Does that help?

Edited by rwoods

Thank you rwoods. The problem of slide is the text field border is shown according to the length of the text inside the field. If the length of the texts is short, the field will be shown ugly, Shrinking to fit the text length. Could i fix the border of the field?