Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

Filemaker project structure

Johnn

This topic is 2606 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hey,

I'm fairly new to Filemaker and have a few question which I hope you can clarify.

I have a Filemaker solution which I use for multiple customers. This solution exist of 2 files, a layout file and a database file. Everytime a new customer comes I copy the 2 files and clear the database so they can start fresh.  The problem i have with this method is that when I change something in one solution, I have to change it in all of them one by one. This takes way to many time.

My question is : What is the best approach for this ?

Is it possible to split up all "modules" to separate file? So I have a module (separate fm file) called Invoices, Contacts , Inventory etc... and set the database structure and  scripts in the separate file. 

This way I have 1 main file which is connected to all the "modules" and all customers have their own main file connected to the "modules", this way if I change a script or database in the "module" it is changed with all customers.

Is this even possible? or is there a better way to approach this?

I hope you can give me some more information.

I am afraid your description is not clear enough. What does your solution actually do for your customers? Are you the one working with it, or do your customers operate it?

20 minutes ago, Johnn said:

This solution exist of 2 files, a layout file and a database file.

Not sure what is the point of that either.

--
P.S. Please update your profile to reflect your version and OS.

Edited by comment

Hi John, welcome to FMForums!