Bug: external script call

This topic is 2393 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

(This has been reported to FMI with no response thus far.)

Filemaker 16 FMPA & Server Mac client, PC server

Scenario: I have a client's "MASTER" file HOSTED on an FMS at a hosting company. I have a copy of that "MASTER" file on a development FMS at my office.

After that copy was made I added a script to both MASTER files. (wrote it on one, copy/paste to the other)

I have a LOCAL file that calls that script in the MASTER file.

In my LOCAL file I set up the External File Reference to the MASTER file on the hosted FMS.

I set up the script in the LOCAL file to call the MASTER file script on the hosted FMS.

All is well.

I then change the External File Reference to the MASTER file on my development server.

Now when I look at the script in the LOCAL file I would expect one of two things: the Perform Script step to the script on the MASTER file would either:
1. still be connected to the correct script or (more likely)
2. show <unknown> for the name of the script it is looking to call.

BUT INSTEAD the call is linking to an entirely different script. It has a different script in the Perform script call - one that has nothing to do with the process.

Clearly this is a dangerous bug.

I can (probably) solve the issue for me in this one case by grabbing a copy of the client's MASTER file to my DEV server then relinking the external script call. At that point the call should "stick". BUT this is a potential data-damaging bug that could crop up in any similar client/development environment.

Mark

• Like 1

It's not exactly a bug. When you call an external script, it points to the internal ID, not the script name. What's happened is that your script IDs in the two copies of the 'MASTER' file are out of sync.

This function will give you a list of script IDs:

ScriptIDs ( "")

And this will give you the names:

ScriptNames ( "" )