Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Don’t know how to approach this problem!

xykudyax

This topic is 2353 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi everyone I’m quite new to FileMaker and though I don’t think this is a FileMaker related problem I don’t know how I can accomplish this:

i have three tables: Actors, Classes and Traits.

each Actor has a Class (til this point everything is okay)

and both Classes and Actors can have multiple Traits (and that is my problem!)

i don’t know how to make the relationships between this tables. Because both class and actors table need to reference the Trait’s one. I though of adding a hidden field in the traits table that could differentiate from actor or class... value=1 actor... value=2 class... this way an identical foreign key value could represent a class or a actor depending on that 2nd variable.

what would be the best approach?! Thank you for your time and help!

• Newbies
8 hours ago, doughemi said:

Can you shed a little more light on how Actors, Classes, and Traits are related (in the real world, that is, not in how you are trying to do it in FileMaker)?

Yes of course and sorry for that lack of explanation! look at it like a video game database. I’m creating more of a dev tool.

Actors are players, they have classes (jobs) like “mages”, “warriors”, “healer”... and both of them have specialities (traits).

Actor named Alex has a trait that gives him 4% more attack, warrior is a class that gives 5% more defense... if Alex is a warrior he will have both 4% more attack and 5% more defense.

That this only as an example, attack and defense are also properties (fields).

another example Anne has a basic +10 attack trait. She is a “mage” this classes has a trait that “blocks her from using swords” and only allows “her from using rods”.

That being said “Traits” are no more that a TraitCodeID that is interpreter by the engine and 3 values, that can be used to pass information.

Trait class: