Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Binding to Open Directory (MacOS OR Cloud-based service)

This topic is 1571 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

We host FileMaker Server 16 and have around 20-25 users connecting to it using FMPro 16 plus a couple of WebDirect users.

Currently the security structure is quite flat and which is obviously not ideal and upcoming changes in the business mean a more hierarchal structure is becoming critical. I have been working on how to implement this on-and-off for a couple of months now testing various techniques which integrate into our other business systems but have hit a few brick walls.

Desire to Integrate with other systems’ user accounts (OS, email, etc) and several FileMaker databases made me go down the external authentication route as opposed to internal authentication. So I tried:

a) Setting up our own Open Directory server using Apple’s Server app. The set up of the server worked fine but I couldn’t get the FileMaker server (or any other machine for that matter) to bind/join the Open Directory server (a separate machine). After clicking 'Join' and entering the server address, it shows an error saying that it could not bind with error code 2100.

b) Setting up an account with an ‘Open Directory as a Service’ provider (Jumpcloud.com). This was not a ‘second choice’, it was an option I was always keen on exploring due to it’s ‘cloud’ nature. MacOS on the FileMaker Server will happily bind to the server but, for some reason, any authentication attempts fail. If I try to auth from the OS login screen it hangs for >30 minutes before I give up. If I try to auth from FM then it just fails (account not recognised). With no definitive, clear ‘how to’ guide it is quite difficult to troubleshoot. This is made even more difficult by being a newbie at this!