Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Export records from a crossreferenced table in a row by row way

This topic is 1351 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

A B C
1 Sep 2020 25
2 May 2022 15

Hello, please forgive me the use of wrong terminology because I am rather new to Filemaker.

I need to export a table with variable number of records crossreferenced in my current table in a row by row way, meaning I want to add some information before and after the records in every row and be able to choose the separator between the records and between the rows. To make it easier to understand I gave an example of the table above.

If I use the following function it gives me only the first row ignoring all other rows:

List(Table::A;Table::B; Table::C)

I can get individual values from the row X using the following function:

GetValue ( List(Table::A) ;X)

So I can get the records from the row X one by one using this function, but I don't know If there is a way to get the whole row X as a list.

Next, I am considering making a loop based on the above expression going through all the rows exporting the following tab separated file:

Date (TAB) Sep (TAB) 2020 (TAB) 25 (TAB) End

Date (TAB) Sep (TAB) 2020 (TAB) 25 (TAB) End

There are more (variable number!) rows in the table and the expressions Date and End are more complex combinations of other records but I made it simple for the purpose of the question.

Is there an easier way to do that than using a loop? If no, how would the loop look like?

Any help would be much appreciated. Many thanks in advance!

4 hours ago, cheshire-cat said:

Is there an easier way to do that than using a loop?

I can think of two, actually:

1. Use the ExecuteSQL() function to generate the contents of your export file. In your example, that could be something like:

ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT 'Date', Monthfield, Yearfield, Dayfield, 'End'
FROM YourTable" ; Char(9) ; ""  )