Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Summary Field Not Updating

Jammer Six

This topic is 1146 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello.

My first question here. I’ve been working with FMP since it was Filemaker, but I’m not a professional, and I think FMP has managed to get away from me this time.

I have no idea why my summary fields aren’t working.

Here are some of the facts:

2049306251_ScreenShot2021-03-05at22_00_57.thumb.png.7407b9dc56f4b72c401d5a3130d836f7.png

I’m designing a database to keep track of project costs in a game. Everything is fictional.
The problem is in the second line of tables. I noticed the problem in this layout:

1871347597_ScreenShot2021-03-05at22_13_09.thumb.png.9351c82c0266cb1d42b2caf73ea83d22.png

This shows Items, that are used to build Goods, and the Items are made up of Materials. This screen shows the table Items, and the portal shows records from Items Material Join Table. Items are added to the portal by the pop up buttons on the left, that show an Item’s name, but enter the serial number attached to each Item at creation of that Item’s record. The Jita Price column is also from the Item table.

The Number of Units column is from the Item Material Join Table, and entering a number there allows the calculation field Cost, which is in the Item Material Join Table to calculate the cost of that line. It is unstored, and this all works.

What doesn’t work is the summary field Total Item Cost, which is outside the portal, and in a Leading Grand Summary part. It should calculate a running total on Cost, but it only does so when it ******* well feels like it.

Enter a new list, and it happily shows the result. However, go to one of the records and change something, like Jita Price, to reflect reality, and it doesn’t update. Except sometimes it does.

Can anyone help me before I decide to buy a shotgun and blow this screen off my desk?

EVE Manufacturing.fmp12

Now for a specific demonstration of the problem.