Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Search based on field content

This topic is 413 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am new to FMPA 18 and trying to find out if a name already exists in the database and I don’t know if I can explain this clearly but,... The idea is that I have a button that runs a script to add a new record which is simply:

1 New Record/Request

2 Go To Field [PrehistoricLife::Name]   //Sets the focus in the Name field

Then a name is entered into the Name field and when <TAB> is pressed to go to the next field, (exits the Name field), it runs another script that searches the database based on the name that was entered into the name field to see if it already exists.

I set the Name field trigger to OnObjectExit, figuring that when a name is entered and the <TAB> is pressed to go to the next field, it will trigger the Find script but for some reason it is running the script as soon as I click the Add Record button. The New Record form comes up and the cursor is in the Name field  but I immediately get the dialog stating that no records match the criteria.  No name has yet been entered and the field has not yet been exited.

It seems that a script to check to see if a name already exists should be fairly simple.  Can someone give me an example of such a script in FMPA?

Thanks

For creating and editing records, I am a fan of form tables.  A form table contains only global (storage type) fields that match the field names in your main table (typically a subset of fields). 

When you are creating and editing in a form, all your validation and other logic is contained in that form. You can even add extra form fields for UI elements and user feedback. This approach keeps your main layout and table clean. 

I have attached a simple example that shows if there is a match on the first name and if the form is valid ( first and last names are not empty ).  Hope that is helpful.

form tables v2.fmp12.zip

Edited by rivet