Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Web links

This topic is 8485 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Here it goes :

I'd like to write my own home page, but I don't know how to link it with FMPro databases.

I also would like to have a script (Open URL) ran directly as a web link and not with a button.

Are both these things possible? Since I still only have the evaluation product, I can't access the Help file where all this should be explained.

Thanx a lot!

Nico

• Newbies

I'm fairly new to FMPro myself but the best way to link to an FM dB from the web is through the web companion (the only way). This will allow web users to access dB info from their browser. You would go to edit-prefs and select web companion. Once configured for TCP/IP or IPX then go to sharing from the fiole menu and enable the web companion.

Of course there's more to it than this when it comes to sharing. For example is this for intranet or internet use?

If you are using internet you will need to have your hosting service provide FM hosting services. If intranet all you need is FMPro 5 but have a limit of 10 users simultaneously (there's an unlimited version for unlimited connections).

I'm not exactly sure what you mean by your question so I think I only answered half of it.

Reply again to clarify please.

Thanks

Yes, thanx. I actually have to different problems, even if I already can see my databases on the web.

The first one is that I'd like to have my own home page (with my design, that I already can see), and suggest different databases and layouts to refer to on this page, through web links. I'd even like to know if it is possible to create "web styles"... but may be this is a FM Developer feature...: