Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Aggregate Totals In Portal Row

This topic is 7417 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am working on an invoice database (child for a Contracts DB)for my employer who wants to see totals by month/year and by year (based on the contract). Since I am not allowed to send the current file I am working on, I was able to find something close on "Afilemakeraffliction" website. In the video that goes with this file it states that it is possible to show each month individually instead of multiple duplicate month and total amounts. I was wondering if anyone could help with this in showing me how to make each month entry only appear once showing total amounts. The file uses the aggregated function which I think is great, and since I am still new at this, I just can't pin point how to resolve it. I have been searching like crazy to find examples of how this is done with little results. I would have thought this would be the type of information that all businesses would want and that there would be examples galore.

My main file (Contracts) would show each contract invoiced payments total. Using the "Record ID" to only show the related "Invoice Numbers" totals. If I could get any assistance, I would really appreciate it.

AggPortal.zip

Are you referring to a printed summary by month? You would just need a layout with a subsummary by month_year (calculation of the month and year), sorted by month_year, and previewed or printed.

If you only want it to appear once in the portal, you have to make a field that only appears once in the child file.

You need a real auto-entered incrementing SerialID field in the child file. Then a calculation field:

Case( SerialID = Last(Self_State_MonthYear::SerialID),

Sum(Self_State_MonthYear::Sales Amount), "")

Last() makes it only appear on the last line for the self-relationship. Remove it and it will appear on the first.