Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Everything Summary

Hurican

This topic is 7337 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Greetings All,

I'm just getting into the meat and potatoes of what FileMaker can do (suddenly I'm hungry), but I have always found some limitations in ease of use when it comes to working with summaries that rely on multiple criteria.

Any summary guru around here, or possibly hints or links to stuff online that I can read about, reverse engineer, etc...?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Hurican

Version: Developer v7

Platform: Windows XP

Sorry about the delay, the board seemed down for a couple of days for me.

I was thinking more in the range of complex summary fields.

For instance, Summarizing multiple criteria, ie...

A field that defines state, MD, VA, CA, OH, etc...

A field that defines date created.

So I would like to total all the records that were created this year from Maryland. Very much like constraining a found set based on multiple find requests.

One easy way to do this: create a calculation field for each eventuality & summarize these.

Ex: If( State="NY" and Year=ThisYear, theAmount, 0) Not fun for 50 states...

Another would be to put the states in a separate table/file and perform the summaries in that file using a relationship back to the first. In the first file make a calc field c.ThisYearAmount: If( Year=ThisYear, theAmount, 0). In the State file make the summary using Sum(theRelationship::c.ThisYearAmount).

Either work for you?

It doesn't seem like this should be that hard. It sounds like you are asking for counts based on several different fields. If so, this can be done with multiple parts on a List layout:

Define a Count of Records field that is a summary: Count of Record ID