looking for a sample script.....

This topic is 8292 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I am not good at scripting so I am looking for an example I can look at to use.

The sample I am looking for is a regular invoice db, with a portal of multi items, found on a relational db with multi records.

of cource it will not print correctly, so I am looking for a script that will copy the informaion of the portal and paste it in to another layout for printing.

Looking for a very simple example, since I am new to scripting.

Much appreciated

Mark

When you say that "of course, it will not print properly," is it because the number of items in the portal exceeds its size, and therefore some rows don't appear in the printout? Trying to copy the contents out of any number of records and then pasting it as some kind of lump into who-knows-what receptacle, is like reinventing the wheel.

I have used two solutions to this:

1. Make a separate layout for printing that is l-o-o-ong enough to hold a portal that CAN hold the number of items you anticipate. This requires several things: Your printing script must not only switch to this layout but check that the number of related records hasn't exceeded the size of even your enlarged portal. The layout must be able to break over two or more pages without text in the portal getting sliced horizontally (this takes fine tuning and may not work with multiple printers); yet the layout must also be able to shrink (with careful use of the Sliding and Printing options) in case there are only a few items. Frankly, a pain.