Getting Started...

This topic is 7223 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hey all. I'm a NYC teacher and I've been using FMP for years to make my job easier. During my endless search to simplify my own job, I have designed some ways that all schools could run more smoothly using FMP. I have no formal FMP training and, while my solutions are in no way amateurish, I feel as though I am missing some basic database skills and understanding. I am interested in pursuing FMP development as a second career, but I do not have a lot of money for training. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to beef up my skills? Any way to find a developer interested in having an apprentice or partner? Is there any place I can find someone willing to work on a project that may not reap any financial reward? Any help is appreciated.

Aaron

• Newbies

Hi Aaron,

Having run my own development/consultancy business for the past 13 years, the best recommendation I can give you is to gain skills in "systems". Business systems, school information systems (you already have), in general, it's the structure and information flow that they will employ you to a) setup for them (the easiest) where they have the ideas on how they want it to work and you just have to create it, and : create it for them (the hardest) where you have to analyse their needs and develop an information system to suite. Get yourself prepared for either of these and you should be off and running. It might be an idea to start with areas you are already familiar with (school systems) and branch out to like installations in your area. The internet can provide you with a global market, but your solutions will have to turnkey for that to be successful and your support system must be able to cope.

• 2 weeks later...

Aaron:

There is a New York City FM Developers' Group at http://masdevelopment.com:3455/1/Home