Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Parsing text from badge reader

This topic is 7229 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am a filemaker newbie. I have done programming in Business Basic and Visual Basic but the filemaker scripting interface is very different. My reason for using filemaker for this purpose is I want to put a new application on my Powerbook to use at a trade show:

I have a credit card kb wedge reader. The reader outputs plain ASCII text. I have a badge from a previous trade show which uses / as the field separator. I want to scan the trade show badge into a temporary field, parse the data into name, address, etc so I can add a record which will contain all the badge information. (I may have to revise the parsing if the badge from the upcoming trade show organizes the data differently)

What would be the best source of scripting information. If necessary I can upgrade my filemaker 5 to filemaker 7

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

paulr211 confused.gif

If you have programming experience this should not be problem for you. Basically you would use a script with a Loop (or just auto-enter by calculations, if a script is awkward with your reader), which parses the text and sets the appropriate fields. The Left ( for the 1st value), Position, and Middle () functions are the tools. The last parameter of the Position function is "occurrence." You can increment a Counter global field to bump the occurrence of "/" for each pass, 1, 2, 3, etc., up to the number of fields (data).

What you want is the text between 2 occurrences of "/". The "start" of the Middle function would be the Position of "/" at the occurrence. The "size" of the Middle function would be the Position of the next occurrence minus the Position of the occurrence.

Middle(TextField, Position(TextField, "/", 1, _gCounter) + 1,

Position(TextField & "/", "/", 1, _gCounter + 1)- Position(TextField, "/", 1, _gCounter) - 1)