Easy Loop Question

This topic is 8191 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I've never used looping in a script before. That's for repeating script steps, right? When i add "Loop" to a script, does it repeat the steps above it or below it? I only need it to loop part of the steps i have, (omitting the first two steps of my script), so, I'm hoping it's below so i can just add it before the steps i need looped.

A loop is a common construction in any programming language. You need 3 pieces:

Loop (the start of the loop)

Exit Loop If (how you break out of the loop)

End Loop (the end of the loop)

Everything between Loop and End Loop gets executed until and repeatedly you exit the loop. The Exit Loop statement can be placed anywhere within the loop based on what you're trying to accomplish.

When using loops, the steps that are repeated are those that are under 'Loop' but above 'End Loop' Scriptmaker will even indent all script steps that are inside the loop (meaning under 'Loop' but above 'End Loop') which makes it easy to read and to find out which steps are being "looped" or repeated. When dealing with loops, always remember to include the 'Exit Loop If' command so that you can trigger when your loop will end.

Small example...

Set Field ( gCounter = 0 )

Loop

Set Field ( gCounter = gCounter + 1 )

Exit Loop If ( gCounter = 3 )

End Loop

Show Message ( "Done" )

The script starts by setting a global (number) field to 0. It then enters the loop where gCounter is incremented by 1 (1 is added to itself.) The loop will continue incremented gCounter until it equals 3, which will then exit the loop and move to the next script step. In the example, once gCounter is equal to 3, a message is shown with the text "Done"

Hope this helps.