Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Determining FIND criteria

This topic is 8155 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am VERY new to FM Pro, and I've recently been handed a sophistocated set of FM databases to provide maintenance for. After searching the help file, and this site, my question is this:

Is it possible to determine the criteria that is being used in a FIND step within a script?

I have a script that performs a SetField[] on a particular field prior to executing a search, but I don't see a way to immediately find if it's looking for <, >, or = (or combination thereof). Example: if the IDnum for a table is set to 1000, how do I know if the find is searching for all records with IDnum <1000, >1000, or equal to 1000?

I know, I could execute the script, however, I don't wish to wait the 20 minutes it takes to compile the results. AND there are numerous scripts that I'd like to determine this criteria on.

Thanks in advance,

-KJ

You can print the script. The Print dialog has an option to print the "Script definition for" your script. Find requests are listed under the Perform Find step in the print out. I use a generic/text printer driver and specify "Print to file", so I don't have to kill trees, if I just want to look at the script or copy and paste it into a message.

It is possible to store find criteria in a script. These criteria do not appear as lines of code in the script; the stored criteria are simply the last find completed before the action was stored. To find out what these criteria are, insert a pause script step in your script immediately after the find. Then, after the script is paused, cancel the script and use the re-find function (ctrl-R on Windows or Apple-R on a Mac). This will take you to find mode and bring up the last find criteria used in that particular file.

Hope that helps,

Tom Parker

[email protected]

http://www.tgparker.com/filemaker