Field formatting

This topic is 8355 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi,

I'm new to FileMaker Pro. I have used Visual FoxPro extensively in the past but that is not a possibility with this project [i am an avid hacker but computers are not my profession]. I have read the "Field Filters:Formatting Data Automatically" from the FileMaker web site but even following the instructions for a phone field format if I re-enter the field the format is lost and intermittently returns upon tabbing out of the field.

Questions:

1.. Should I have a tab stop for the format definintion field?

2. Should I do anything to make either field invisible as with fill, colors etc.

3. Is there any way to fill with fomatting characters such as (xxx) xxx-xxxx where only the "x" can be replaced. I do not see any way to do this and I seen no way to limit the length of a field (maybe too green at FileMaker.

Any and all helpful suggestions appreciated.

Bob Hartung

Hello Bob,

here are explainations to your questions:

• yes, you MUST set a TAB ORDER in which the editable field is the first and the hidden calculated field is second

• you can change, as you want, the colors and attributes of the fields (text, background and borders; these last,to be invisible, must have the same color of the form)

• the solution to your third question is contained in the formula of the calculated field in the example you've downloaded.

Because you are a Xbase programmer (as i'm), you certainly know the way to parse a string and subtitute the chars you want.

Regards & happy FileMaking.

• Newbies

Thanks for the response. I'm a little closer but I do not yet fully "get it". I have 2 fields: (1) HomePhone and (2) HomePhoneFormat with the proper expression in the latter to give the format (xxx) xxx-xxxx. Field 2 is immediately on top of field 1 and immediately follows it in the tab order.