Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Create a child record from a script ?

phil411

This topic is 6711 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am new to the concept of having several Tables in one Database.

Previously, when I had to create a record in a (child) related database, I transferred the data using globals, then called a script in the related database, which added the record.

Now, this should be easier with multiple Tables in one database I thought. Just call "New record", specifying the Database and insert the data.

However, "New record" will create a record in the parent database. You cannot specify the target table - or I simply did not find this function.

Well, I can jump to a layout where only the child database is listed, or as an alternative, can jump in a layout, where a portal is visible, then jump to the last record if the portal and then add the data (add some code to freeze the window, stop user-interaction etc. etc. )

But this looks for me more like a workaround then a good solution.

Could anyone with experience with FM7 give me a tip to do this a better way ?

Thanks.

Hi, Phil, and welcome to the forums!

If your relationship is set to allow creation of related records on the right-hand side, then simply setting a value for a field in the related table (other than the key field) should create a new record in the child table.

HTH,

Jerry

• Newbies

Thanks for you answer QuinTech,

That works, but only for one record. If there are already records present in the table, no new record will be created, instead, the current record will be overwritten by the new value.

I should have described the problem more exact:

I have a text field where you can paste some lines of text. A script then parses the text in that field and filters out unneeded characters and blank lines. The remaining lines should go into the child table. One record per line.