To 7 or not to 7 ......that is the question!

This topic is 6933 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello everyone

After 18 very enjoyable(well usually!) months I have a working solution installed in my business.

It comprises of 18 files, umpteen relationships and runs in kiosk mode from FM server to approx 6 users throughout our business. It handles everything from initial enquiry & calculating an estimate, conversion to order, job tracking throughout the works through to final invoice, management reports and filing. All this along with a professional looking GUI means that I take great pleasure in seeing people using it every day and I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has helped me along the way.

Because I started as a complete novice and was learning as I went along I now realise that I could have done things in a much better/safer/structured way. I therefore have decided to start again and get it right this time !! shocked.gif

My quandry is this: Do I start again in 7 or just upgrade to 6?

I know this would be an obvious time to go to 7 but:

1/ The extra features it brings are really not necessary to my solution. 6 would give me everything I need (and then some)

2/ If I have to begin re-learning how to do things( in 7) will I be back where I started when I began in 5

3/ People seem to grumble a bit about things that are not quite right in 7(slow pop up lists, font issues etc.) whereas 6 seems well sorted

I keep going round in circles.

I feel a bit wimpish for not grabbing the bull by the horns and going to 7 but I find the 6 route really quite attractive.

Any opinions that might help me with my decision would be really appreciated

TIA

Phil

You might consider that other tasks in the organization, as more urgent - such as the creation of a positive cashflow, and hardly wishes to wear the propellar hat more than on very special occations ...an understandable disposition!!!!