Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Information please

This topic is 6808 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Just want to start off by saying thanks in advance. I've been coming to this forum for awhile now and always recieved great advice.

I've been playing around with filemaker trying to design an application my company has been wanting to implement for a while but has never taken time to do. I wouldn't say I'm new to FM7, actually I would say I understand some aspects very well, but others I have no grasp of. What it is is a database to help order tracking. What makes it difficult, or at least for my abilities, is how to track data flow. I work for a job shop so each order is unique. We have seven departments that are involved; esimating/sales, engineering, burning, rolling, fabrication, qc, and shipping. All orders go through the sales, engineering, qc, and shipping departments. Not every order goes to each production department. For example, an order may have some burning and rolling but no fabrication.

Basically, I have no idea how to start this process. I don't have a good idea on how to structure the database. Each order has a unique job number assigned to it so I was thinking I would structure it around that. I can see in my mind how I would like it to work. I see an order entry page, a page for engineering that shows all open orders. When they finnish an order, it can be checked and removed from the list. Then, the information would flow to the production departments. Each Manager would have a list of open orders in his department with an estimated load time in hours. Employees could punch in and out on jobs they are working on to keep track of hours applied(some fabrication orders could have hundreds of hours of estimated work). This would flow all the way down to Shipping where the final step would remove the order from the list.