relationship with master file has many records on relational file..

This topic is 8325 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi..

I have a Master file A, withe one key field, I have several matching records in relational data base B.

The problem is I need to list those matches in the file B and list it in Master file A, and be able to print it for faxing. I have no problem listing the matching records in a portal, but as you know portal does not work well for printing if it goes over the lines limit.

To show you the example of the problem, the master file A is a fax out database that shows part number, description, quantity, and price. The relational database is a RFQ database with vendor name as the key field with the part number, descripition, quantity, and price, per record.

so when i type the key field of vendor in Master file A (fax out database) I would like an expanding body of all the matching records from file B without having to use portals (each record containing many fields).

Please help with suggestions.. wink.gif" border="0

Thanks for the help...but,

Ok, so i made the script going back to the relational database B, but how do i display all those fields with so many records. The portal has no difficulties displaying multi field, multi record.

I purchased the filemaker 5 bible, and that book doesn't cover how to display multi record matches other then portal.

I'm a bit new to scripting so please bear with me.. =P

Thanks again for the help.. =)

Create a columnar report in File B. This will allow you to list multiple records. If there is information in File A that you want to have print in the header of File B establish a relationship from "B" to "A" and place the related records fields in the header.