Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Display related record image from folder

This topic is 6390 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

You don't reflect an ability in FileMaker, so I will assume that it is not Advance and explain in more detail.

You need a relationship between the two files. The Current File is the one you wish to see the container, and the Related is the one where you have stored the image.

Be sure you create a Key that will be unique. i.e. not a constant.

Go into Layout Mode in the Current File and place a New field on your layout. When the dialog box opens, choose the New Relationship, and then the container in the Related File.

HTH

Lee

Yes I am not a pro, but I am trying.

I am not quite sure what you are telling me. What I want is for a field to display the record being browsed's related image automatically. This would be a one time deal as after the script is run I know the image would stay in the container field.

The reason I am trying to do this is when I or one of the secretaries at my office has to add a new person to our ID system they don't have to go through the manual process of right clicking on the field, insert image and navigate to find it. I want it to be done as soon as the new person is added.

FKSSTECHGUY

What you are asking now is a little different than what I read into your first post.

You can use the Insert Picture script step to do this. However, you will need to set the path for the Secretary too.

How is the secretary going to know which picture?

Is there a specific folder where they will be stored?

Lee

The database is stored on a network drive and so are the images, so once I set it up it should not be a problem.

As for where the images are stored they are in the database's root folder. Similar idea to when you design a webpage and have images.

All the images have a unique ID number that coorisponds with individuals ID number eg. john smith's ID# is 007 then the image would be 007.jpg.