Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Accessing a Filemaker script from an ASP website

This topic is 6627 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

This question is related to the topic below:

http://fmforums.com/forum/showtopic.php?tid/171863/post/185201/hl/scripts+odbc/

Bear with me while I give you a little background on the project:

I'm an ASP developer working with a Filemaker developer on a project to build a public website that draws a lot of data from our client's FM database. Whilst I'm pretty experienced with Access and SQL Server, I'm a complete idiot when it comes to Filemaker so the whole project has been a steep learning curve for me.

The client's FM database has been migrated to a Windows Server 2003 box running FM7 Server Advanced. We're upgrading to FM8 Server Advanced in the next couple of days - it was not available here in the UK when we began the project. The site interfaces with Filemaker using the FM ODBC driver.

We've conquered most of the issues that have arisen during development, but there's one problem that's proved difficult to surmount - part of the brief demands that we insert images uploaded to the server via an ASP ActiveX component into container fields in the FM DB. I'm unable to do this using ODBC - you can only insert text into container fields. So I had the bright idea that if something like SQL Server's stored procedures were available in FM, I could call them from ASP, passing a path to the image and ref for the container field, and the FM script could do the rest of the work.

Well it seems we're part way there. My colleague has written an FM script that will do just that - and enhancements in FMS8A mean that we can pass variables (i.e. file path and container field ref) to the FM script. So the question is, how can I call the script from a VBscript ASP page?