Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Multiple Find Criteria and Blanks

This topic is 6600 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a need to find records that meet specific criteria, but I want to include those records where any one of those criteria could be blank. How do I arrange the find requests to include blanks in any of the specified fields, as well as those that meet all specified criteria?

I have been told that I'm a beginner or novice user rather than intermediate as I thought. I just don't know how to change it in my profile.

Thanks!!!

Don't listen to what people say :...

In the mean time, the only way i could see of doing this is a fairly boring and annoying find script, but your user will have to push a button to search... Now assuming you have a set group of fields that you want to return even if they are blank we simply do the following in a script:

--Notes--

The fields called "allowedtobeblank" 1 through N are simply your fields that can be blank.

If there are certain fields that you want to never be blank, you would set some global fields prior to creating a new record in the script. Then you would simply set those fields in each of the new requests created equal to your stored global values. If this is going over your head, explain what you want a bit more clearly, and i'll try simplify it a bit more.

If[get(WindowMode) = 1)]

New Record / Request

SetField[allowedToBeBlank1 ; "="]

New Record / Request

SetField[allowedToBeBlank2 ; "="]

New Record / Request

SetField[allowedToBeBlankN ; "="]

Perform Find[]

Else

Show Custom Dialogue ["Error" ; "You aren't in find mode..."]

End If

~Genx

Edited by Guest
Script Error

Thanks so much for your response!

First, let me say that this was, indeed, a little over my head, although I think I know where you're going with it. I do feel that I need to provide you with a bit more insight into what I'm looking for. To do that, I'll explain how my database works.