Server Maintenance This Week. ×

A "simple" script?

This topic is 6526 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

This one is most likely a no brainer for fm pros...but I am a novice at best.

I have a repeating date field that I need to auto enter the current date each time an inspection is performed. I can get my script to check for empty, enter the date, and advance to the next field, if not empty - but that's as far as I can go.

I'm thinking I need a loop in here some where to dig down untill I reach the first empty field, but I can't quite figure out the loop function.

Here's what I've got so far:

Go to field ["Recheck Date"]

If["IsEmpty{Recheck Date}"]

Insert Current Date

Else

Go to next field

End If

Any Suggestions??

Here is a technique that does exactly what you are asking. The only difference is it copies a values to the first repetition.

http://www.filemakerpros.com/Copynext.zip

However, I would recommend using another file and a portal to enter the dates. In other words, each inspection date would be a new related record. It will make the script a lot easier and allow you to create some reports on inspection dates.

Go to field ["Recheck Date"]

Loop

Exit Loop If[isEmpty(Recheck Date)]

Go to next field

End Loop

Insert Current Date

You should probably put another Exit Loop in there to deal with what happens if you don't have any empty fields. Endless loop = bad.

I agree with JMO, you'd almost certainly be better off using a related table (related file in FileMaker 5) to store those dates.

Thanks to both for your help.

This will mostly likely land me in the "you don't even know what you don't know" category, but please excuse my lack of knowledge - I've got books on order :