This topic is 4115 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Somewhat of a Guide here I guess. When I started learning abaout AJAX, i was told what it was, and what it could do, but never how it worked.

Ajax updates a web page, without actually refreshing a page. I guess it would be more fair to say that Ajax can help you update a section of a web page, without refreshing/reloading the whole page.

I use Lasso, so most of the examples I give will involve lasso code, however, the actuall AJAX part is seperate from any Lasso/PHP/fx.php/CDML/XSLT code, it just javascript.

Every content part of an HTML page can contain an ID, it will look something like the following:

Inside of that DIV is more html, a form or a navigation header, anything.  For these purposes I'm going to leave it blank. The onmouseover call tells the browser what to do when the mouse is moved over that div.  It calls a function “UpdateDiv” while passing the paramater 'testingdiv'.(Well get to the function in a minute)

One of the bigger problems people have with AJAX, is that unless you make it, AJAX does not tell your users that the page has been updated. To counter this, I create numerous blank 
's or 's next to the content that will be updated. Here is the Javascript I will be using:

Assuming I made no mistakes here, that would return the firstname of the person with whatever key i specified when I called the function, and put it right into the divid that was specified at the same time. All this done, without reloading or refreshing any pages.

This is my first attempt at writing something like this, so if you have any questions, or if I have made any mistakes please let me know so I can refine this into something useful for the community.

EDIT: I don't know why the

tags aren't working, can anyone tell me?

var FMQuerry = false; 

if (window.XMLHttpRequest) {

FMQuerry = new XMLHttpRequest();

} else if (window.ActiveXObject) {