placing a button im portal row

ukbased

This topic is 6463 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,a beginner here .

I have portal showing customer/invoice no./order no.

I want to be able to click on a specific order no, and that will allow me to bring up all records showing same order number.

thanks

preferably put it in another portal buy opening a layout would be acceptable

A very easy way is to place a button on the portal row and have it Go To Related Record (using Show Only Related Records and Match Current options). Specify a separate layout (with an appropriate portal) and have that second layout Show Records From the same table that your first portal does.

hello thanks for reply.

Do i just place the button in any row or does it need to be on one that relates to the recored ? reason i ask is the record in question may not always be in the same row.

And i then script it as normal to open up the new layout ?

It's called Go To Related Record (GTRR for short), Do a search for your keywords [color:blue]+Button +Portal and you should find plenty of threads on this subject.

You will also find some helpful reading about Relationships in your Manual and in the Online Help (available when FileMaker is open). Start by reading the information about the Script Step Go To Related Record, using this link in the help [color:blue]Contents > Script steps reference (alphabetical list) > Navigation script steps > Go to Related Record script step

Lee

hello

I have it working sort off ..

new layout with portal showing relevant fields , button set to display only related records but when clicked there are still other records showing as well as the required ones

I could not find anything related to match current options as earlier mentioned