How to "Filter" a Portal Relationship?

Shadowfax

This topic is 6514 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Ello everyone, slight trouble building this "simple" find feature.

I have a Master file with a portal that shows records from the Contacts file. There's also several blank fields on the Master labeled after the contact-fields I'd like to search ('Last Name', 'First Name', etc).

How can I enter data into these filter fields, and have the portal automatically show the correct records? Obviously through a relationship, but how?

Now in other database programs (such as MS-Access, or anything with SQL), it'd be just "WHERE LastName = gblFilterLastName OR FirstName = gblFilterFirstName...". Very simple. Is there some FileMaker alternative or trick I should know about (since v6 doesn't have an OR relationship)?

Now I could have it run a Find, but getting the info to Master would be trouble. Marking all the results (through ReplaceContents) would make sense, but this is a shared database, and everyone would see each other's finds. Stepping through each record and compiling a list in a global Master field would work too, but that takes five seconds over a network (which is an eternity). I know: lame ideas -- which is why I'm here today.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :help:

Edited by Guest
Fixed the Subject

Sounds like you should just have one global Name field on the parent side, matching on a calc field, where the calc is First Name & " " & Last Name.

Not a bad idea! Except I have six filter fields. Last name, first name, biz title, category, and related show. Your combination would work for two fields, but six has 720 combinations. So sad! :

I think you will need two calculation fields: in the Master table, cNames =

"Last:" & gblFilterLastName & ¶ & "First:" & gblFilterFirstName

In the Child table, cNames =

"Last:" & LastName & ¶ & "First:" & FirstName

Base your relationship on these two fields.