Server Maintenance This Week. ×

VBScript for rxecuting a Script on a FM Runtime?

This topic is 6405 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello, I found a sample VBScript posted by

Wim Decorte that executes a script maker script on a database, however I tried modifying the VB script to open a runtime application rather than FileMaker itself.. is this functionality possible with a runtime, and if so, can someone please post a sample script as how to reference a runtime app?

I just started learning VBScript.. I am more into AppleScript but need to do some PC work :)-)

BTW. Thank you Wim for all the great stuff posted on this subject.

--

Best wishes,

Daniel Taylor

OH sorry to hear that.. :)

Is there any other Windows side technology to trigger a script inside a runtime? The problem I have is that I have a client that has created a runtime solution and we are in the process of upgrading it, but we would like to have an installer trigger an export script on the previous runtime app, to extract all the records, I am certain we can provide text instructions on how to do it by hand, but it would be preferred to have it made automatically by the installer. This can be accomplished on the Mac Side with AppleScript.

No doubt Wim will come up with something better but, FWIW, I have a similar situation. The user has to rename the old solution folder 'Application Old'. The new one has an opening script which does this -

Perform External Script (Show All) [for each table in the old copy]

Import records [from each table in the old copy]

There are a few checks to make sure it all went well.

I figure the relatively minor user task is margnally better than trying to do the whole thing with VBScript or similar.