Finding & replacing container on HD

This topic is 6407 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello

I am a newbie that has made a very silly mistake and is hoping to get around it. In a photo db I created sometime ago, I have numerous containers in a sheet that contain low res pix that I have imported. Over time this db has become far larger than first designed so I am looking for a way to get FM to automatically look at each container contents name i.e. photo and search my HD for the original before replacing the FM container with the file location. In short:

1. Establish the file name in the container

2. search the HD for the file

3. If a dupe found, ask what to do.

3. If not, replace the container contents with the file location.

Writing it like that is easy for me. It is just the script writing part that I find unfathomable.

Thank you to you all for all your help.

There is a Find command built in to Unix. You can combine that with AppleScript's choose from list command to get much what you want. The example has no error checking, but it works. It is currently looking in the user's Home folder. It would be much much faster if you narrowed that down a bit, with something like 'path to pictures folder' instead.

Container_Insert_wFind.zip

Fenton

Thank you very, very much. As I mentioned before, I am just a newbie and so I am struggling a little (actually alot). So here it goes with the questions.

1. I have tried to change the Apple script to start looking at a specific folder but I cannot find a way to add the file path. I have added

set theFolder to (quoted form of (text 1 thru -2 of (POSIX path of /Volmues/PM WORLD/WORK/PMWORLD DECORS/ARCHIVE DECORS/))))

but applescript says

SYNTAX ERROR

Expected expression but found “/”.

when i take / out , I get

Expected “, ” but found identifier.

2; When I run the script as you sent it, its stops at:

set theChoice to POSIX file (first paragraph of result)