Server Maintenance This Week. ×

inserting email signature in script 'Send Mail'

This topic is 6357 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Filemaker (and I'm not technical) so I hope this query makes sense.

The database I am using has a script set up to send an email to students (it is a database for student administration). The script works fine except I want an email signature to appear at the bottom of the email. There are multiple users on this database so this email signature would change depending on who the user is.

The email program used is Microsoft Exchange Outlook though I'm sure the principle would be the same regardless of which email program. I am also using Filemaker Pro 8 and Windows XP.

Any suggestions on how I can achieve this?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Parasko and welcome to the forum

The send mail script step does nothing more thanpass the message on to your default mail programme where it is then dealt with using the mail programmes settings.

If therefore your users were to set up their own signatures within Outlook, these would appear on the bottom of the emails per user.

If you want to do it from within FMP you are going to have to grab the user name at log-in and include that along with appropriate text and include it in the message part of the email somehow

HTH

Phil

Parasco,

I'm also running Outlook standard with Exchange and like you have noticed, it doesn't add the default signature from Outlook.

You can get around this by sending a "mailto" command using "Send Event" rather than using the built-in thing that Filemaker offers.

Just use Send Event with a syntax like:

"mailto:" & tablename::emailaddress

Hi Ted,