Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Showing only value lists related to a specific field

bluearrow

This topic is 6360 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I am new to FM7-8.5 (have been working on FM6 for years, but I am updating my knowledge now).

I have been struggling with value lists. I would like to create a table that holds all my value lists, for my whole solution (one file). In any specific table, I would like to be able to have any field formatted as drop down (or whatever) to show only the list of values that are pertinent for that field.

For instance:

Table1

ID

Field1 - Colors (drop-down);) must show only Colors coming from Table2.

Table2

ID

Data (Colors, Models, Makers, etc.)

Data_Code (all colors would have the same code, all models will have the same code, etc.)

I understand this could easily be done with "standard" value list, but for administrative reasons (to long to explain here) I need to delegate value list creation and editing to somebody else. Creating value list through another table is much more flexible and easy to manage (centralized management).

I would not like to create a field in every record in Table1 to establish the relationship:

Table1::Data_Code>Table2::Data_Code

Although this would allow me to create the relationship I am looking for, it will also force me to create as many numeric fields as neeeded for every value list I neeed to show, in every table, for every filed that needs a value list. Not a good solution to me.

Any ideas? A sample file would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks

Hey bluearrow,