Okay who is up for a challenge?

spongebob

This topic is 6336 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

We bow to thee oh mighty forum!

I hope Ill explain myself right.

I have a master record in a master table with a related table. In the related table are two lengthy text fields.

The related table has say, 20 records relating to the first master record.

When I want to print the one master record i wanto print the 20 related text bits with it.

Easy I hear you say, just smack a portal on your print layout, give it say 50 instances and set sliding printing "up" and bingo it all will print.

Yes and no and this is a baaad approach because:

a) the size of the portal may be smaller than whats in the text fields so they may be cut off and

: what if there are more than 50 related records to print?

In this app I cannot afford to not print something; it hasto print the lot.

So new approach.

Write a script that goes to the related records and dumps all the info of all the related records into one summary print field of the master record and then print that field on the print layout of the master record. I use the goto related record script step for that in my script generating the content of my "summary print field" in the master record.

So far so good now comes the hickup.

I must generate this summary print field for the master record before I print the master record of course.

However when the user hits my "print" button (which leads to my printing script) I dont know if he wants to print just THE CURRENT RECORD or all RECORDS IN THE FOUND SET.

If the guy only prints the current record its easy. Run my summary print field generation script and print the current record. That would work.