Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Ideal Developer Computer

EricM85

This topic is 6222 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am a new FileMaker Developer, working with version 8.5, and I need to invest in a new computer. This machine will be used primarily for *designing* databases. It will not be used for hosting, etc.

I understand the minimum requirements...

http://filemaker.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/filemaker.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=6036

... but I'd like to understand what components I should pay attention to in order maximize FileMaker's performance. For example, when I click and drag a set of fields in design view, I want it to happen in real time. The computer I'm currently using has a delay of a few seconds when I do this common task.

While a Mac is on my wish list, I am limited to buying a Windows machine. That said, what components are most important for me to invest in, i.e., processor, RAM, hard drive? What would be the ideal computer for a FM 8.5 developer? What does the dream machine look like?

Warm Regards,

Eric

Here are my recommendations:

1) Get a Mac: Reason 1 :( it's very easy to load and run multiple versions of FileMaker at the same time. This makes debugging limited user accounts much easier. For example, I have FM 8.5Advanced and FM 8.5 (regular) on the same machine. Frequently, I'll use 8.5Advanced to develop, test, run scripts and change group permissions, while testing a limited user account login on FM8.5. I think it's either impossible, or very difficult to have more than one version of FM installed on windows.

2) Get a Mac, install Parallels, and then you can have multiple Virtual Machines (VMs) for testing. I have Windows2000, XP, and Vista running all on my mac, so I can quickly test FM in all OSs, browsers, etc, from one machine.