Server Maintenance This Week. ×

DNA custom function/calculation

This topic is 2985 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hey all,

just curious if any of you have seen a calculation or a custom function to convert a DNA sequence to an amino acid sequence or vice versa.

I figure it wouldn't be too terribly difficult to make one myself, but if somebody has already conceived of this thing it would certainly be a time saver.

Thanks.

If it's as simple as changing letters it should be fairly easy. The convertor I found online seemed to suggest that was the case. But then again I'm not a rocket scientist.

http://www.geneseo.edu/~eshamb/php/dna.php

Leucine (aac → uug)

Glycine (ccg → ggc)

Proline (ggt → cca)

http://www.cbs.dtu.dk/courses/27619/codon.html

That site has a nice simple table illustrating the DNA to Amino Acid conversion.

Every three characters of a DNA sequence is considered a 'codon', and codes for a particular amino acid, which would be represented in a protein sequence by a letter.

You could convert a DNA chain to an amino acid chain easily enough, but to do the reverse accurately would not be possible, as there are several instances where multiple codons code for the same amino acid. well, you could make a DNA sequence that would work, but it might not be the same DNA sequence that mother nature invented :

My original thought for my current database project was to be able to calculate an amino acid sequence by supplying a DNA sequence. I'm not sure if I'm still going to use this approach, though it might be nice to develop this functionality anyway.

anyway, as I said, though I am quite noobish at designing calc fields effectively at this point, it's probably not the hardest thing in the world to do. I was mainly looking to see if this type of calc had ever popped up on these forums before, the search function gives me zilch for DNA.

thanks for the responses.