Basic questions

This topic is 6183 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I was just playing around with FM for a while and mentioned that it might be a better way of tracking out business to my boss.

Now, all the sudden, this is a project that needs to be done yesterday, regardless of the fact that I have no experience with database design.

Our needs are fairly simple, so I decided to tweak one of the templates, but I am having some problems.

In the registration template (FM 8.5 for Mac) there are 3 tables defined. In the relationships area, there are all these other tables used to relate things to one another. I have no idea where they came from or how to edit them.

I am trying to create a relationship in the contacts area that shows the location of the course a contact is registered for. For whatever reason, it's not working.

The only other thing that I need to at least be functional is a way to keep a running total of how many people are registered for each location. I tried to do a summary, but the way this template is put together, it isn't easy to figure out what to summarize.

Help?!

I am attaching the file. Hopefully it is clear what I want to do. The problems are in red.

Oh, and it's not really a gif. After you download it, change the file extension to .fp7 and it will be fine.

Thanks in advance

New_York_07.gif

The download gets stucked somewhat, why won't you use the propper way of uploadeing it, as a .zip?? On a mac is selection of the file and then click-crlr making a popup show up, here do choose the 9th choise saying something about "...compress" and re-upload the file here by say modifying your previous post.

--sd

A couple of quick thoughts: