Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Script to extract multiple values from a field as individual records?

This topic is 6183 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi all,

I am a newbie here so my apologies if I stumble.

I am a marine biologist working with a database of ~2000 records of encounters with groups of killer whales. Each record is one encounter, and I have a field called "Individual ID" in which up to 30 individuals are listed, space delimited (eg "T001 T002 T002A" etc). What I want to do is to parse this data so that it is organized by individual, rather than by encounter, with all of the relevant data for each encounter associated with each individual. In a separate table, I have a list of all the known individual whales (n=300).

I'm thinking that what I need to do is create a script that looks up the table of whale IDs, selects the first ID on the list, executes a Find on the Encounter data, and extracts all of the records that include that ID within the Individual_ID field. It could then save those records to a new file. It would have to also create a new field called Target_ID and fill all of the new records with the relevant ID. Then it would loop to the next ID on the list and do the same thing. It would be great if each loop could extract to the same file, appending each set of records as it went. This would end up with a new file with ~10,000 records.

Am I on the right track? I have been trying to figure out how to do this, and have searched this forum for similar scenarios but I think my experience might be too limited to find what I need.

I have done this once manually in Excel and it took 3 days of mind-numbing cutting and pasting, so I would be VERY grateful for any advice! Thanks!

-- Alana

Splitting the data into separate records is easy: define a calculation field (result is Number) =

Let ( [

text = Substitute ( Extend ( Individual ID ) ; " " ; ¶ ) ;

i =  Get ( CalculationRepetitionNumber ) 

] ;