Link to child records from a parent in a portal

nick_jp

This topic is 6110 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi All,

I'm relatively new at FM Pro and have been struggling a bit with how to set up queries.

The below is a little long-winded. But I want to give examples of what I've throught and worked through up to this point. I put it in the portal forum, hope it's in the right place.

Anyway...

----

What I want to make: Timesheet DB

What I want the user to see:

User will create a timesheet for a given week, say July 1-7. They can enter new lineitems to log work done, where the select project, client etc from lists. Then they have 7 date fields labelled mon, tue, wed... where they can put a number of minutes.

Relationships:

1 "Timesheet" can have many "lineitems", which can in turn have up to 7 "date entries". Ie, on any line item, you can enter time data for up to 7 days.

I have two ways of storing these "date entries"

a) You have 7 date_minutes fields in the lineitem table. Easy to do.

;) Have a seperate table for date_minutes information. Seems harder to do, but you can do more granular analysis later.

A date_entry table record would contain the pk for the line_item as a foreign key, a date and a number of minutes.

Deciding which method to use - which is more flexible after the dat is in the system?

Option A, 7 date_min fields in lineitem table.

If the date_minutes records are in the lineitem table, it's easy to enter new records and view them later. But harder to do analysis at the "date" level later. Ie, searching for all records for a given date "day1" entails:

i. finding all timesheets which encompass day1

ii. getting the "day of week" for day 1 - say it's monday.

iii. getting all the line items with something in "monday" (would need your find script to be dynamic, because it doesn't know what date it's looking for)

iv. Analyse and report from that found set.

Option B, child table.