Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

Can you use an FMP Web site without FMP

wingwalker

This topic is 6239 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I just want to make sure I understand all of this Filemaker and the Web. This is my first time using the Web and i'm trying to understand what is needed.

First, can our customers access a Web hosted Filemaker solution if you do not have a copy of Filemaker?

I'm trying to get all of this straight in my head. We're going to have a fairly high number of customers going to our Web site to read information and then make a purchase. These people do not have Filemaker on their computers.

What i've been planning is to use a Filemaker Web hosting company that has Filemaker Server Advanced to host my solution and I read something giving me the idea that you had to have a copy of FileMaker to access the Web site. If that is the case FileMaker will not work for me at all.

I understand you can only have a specific number of users at your site at one time. Does this mean if 500 people log onto the Web site, most of them will not be able to do so? Or does it mean that all 500 can log on and read information and navigate around the web site. But only a set number can access the database with an order, or a question at one time?

I know I should understand this better than I do, so I could really use your help,

James

These people do not have Filemaker on their computers

What all the customers need is a webbrowser, either Safari, Firefox 2 or internet explorer.

However must considerable more development time be thrown into such a project than a server-client solution.

--sd

Hi Soren,

Soren Said: What all the customers need is a webbrowser, either Safari, Firefox 2 or internet explorer.

What happens if they try to log onto the site with a web browser other than Safari, Firefox 2 or Internet explorer.?