Server Maintenance This Week. ×

New to Filemaker

This topic is 6054 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am new to filemaker (9) but very experienced in MS Access and have a number of questions.

I would like to develop in a Windows Vista environment and transfer this to a Mac...? possible...downsides?

What functionality does the advanced version of FM give?

What is a good book for FM 9?

The best Filemaker book (IMHO) is Special Edition: Using Filemaker 8. While not yet updated for version 9, all of the info in the book applies, just missing info about some new features.

Cross-platform development is fairly effortless, save some color matching and font issues. Most functions and script steps work exactly the same on both platforms. You do have to watch out if you're using any plugins to make sure there is a mac version. And if you're integrating with any external scripts (ie. vbscript) you will have to rewrite those scripts using some other language on the mac. (like shell scripts, Perl, ruby, etc.)

The advanced version of FM gives you access to:

1. Custom menu creation

2. Custom function creation

3. Script Debugger and Data Viewer

4. Database Design Report

5. External plugin API

6. Whatever I missed

Hi Eric, and Welcome to the Forum.

There are several on this list that have made the trek from Access to Filemaker, or have just added FileMaker to their toolbox. I think most have found it a good move, and found FileMaker a good addition. However, a few did seemed to have made this move against their own free, and you may run across their post if you do a search for Access by their occasional "Access didn't do it this way" comments.