Runtime Secutiry

Mif

This topic is 5957 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am about to release a run-time version to a client and wondered just how secure it might be. I did some research and found out that there is a piece of software that claims to remove all password protection from Filemaker. I was freaked out until I noticed that "databases protected with filemaker developer are not supported". That eliminated my concern but may be a blessing to you. Check out this link and four $45 you may have your database back!

http://www.lostpassword.com/filemaker.htm

• 2 months later...

I can tell you which runtime theft prevention program _not_ to buy: ExeShield. Its documentation is terrible (as a professional technical writer I can say this with authority) and its author seems to enjoy replying in terse phrases which usually don't address the question(s) you may have posed.

It astonishes me how he makes it as frustrating and difficult an experience as possible to use the program. It just goes to show that you may have a top-notch product but if people scratch their heads trying to figure it out then you're only halfway done with developing it.

I wish I could, Lionel--I'm sure the seasoned developers on here could make a recommendation or two...as well as for protecting non-runtime FM solutions as well. (I'm having a rough time finding good software for the latter.)