Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

Assigning relations

Rothko

This topic is 6153 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello there,

I'm new to relational databases, so any help is greatly appreciated. I think I've gotten my clumsy head round it, but there is one problem that's baffling me.

I have two tables: One is a list of materials, the other a list of vendors. So a many-to-one relationship, right.

It's a database of materials, and where to get them. I would like to enter a new material, and then assign a contact person (the vendor). I think part of the problem is that I start with the 'child' and then assign its 'parent'.

Anyway, I would love to have a nicely formatted drop-down list of names to choose from, ideally followed by the company name. Or even a pop-up window of a list of of the contacts table, with a button that assigns the match key. At the moment all I have is a drop-down list of numbers (the contactID_pk) field.

A nudge in the right direction might be all it needs. I guess I really need a script, no?

The file is attached (Filemaker 8.5)

Many thanks,

Christian

CDatabase.fp7.zip

Thanks. I think may be getting there. I wasn't so sure about the Value List approach, but I've thought about it some more and I've slightly altered the Value List you picked out. See screenshot. (The calculated field simply does [color:green]Company& ", " & First Name & " " & Last Name

The user can now pick from a list of Companies and Names. However, once he made his pick, he still only sees (the field displays) the contactID_fk value. Not the name. Any idea?

Ideally I still think a pop-up window with a list of contacts to choose from is ideal. But the sample files I could find are simply too complex. Way over my head. Maybe someone knows an example file somewhere...

valuelist.jpg