Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Difference between -CC and -BCC?

This topic is 8757 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Dear CDML geniuses:

I am a CDML programmer having some email woes... FileMaker CDML is woefully underdocumented, and, I think we all can agree

My FileMaker email forms aren't working out in both of these situations. In the form, I've put in the hidden fields

<INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="-mailto"

VALUE="[FMP-field:Customers::Email]">

<INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="-mailCC" VALUE="[email protected]">

<INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="-mailBCC" VALUE="[email protected]">

When the user submits the shopping cart, the user, the company (filmwest), and myself, are all supposed to get a copy. In this setup, only the customer is receiving mail.

When I have it setup as

VALUE="[FMP-field:Customers::Email], [email protected], [email protected]">

only I (at oxygensmith) am getting the email.

My questions are:

• Newbies

A few days later, I solved the problem, so I'm posting a "reply" to myself. I'd seen at least one other instance on the net with a person having this problem, but no one took the time to answer it.

VALUE="[FMP-field:Customers::Email]">

<INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="-mailCC" VALUE="[email protected]">

<INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="-mailBCC" VALUE="[email protected]">

As you might recall from last week's episode, in the code above, the confirmation "mailto"ed the customer was getting to the customer, but not filmwest (and not my own address, [email protected], either).

The problem here was that the -mailfrom hidden input (not cited in the example) was also set to [email protected], like so:

<INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="-mailfrom" VALUE="[email protected]">