Server Maintenance This Week. ×

CDML Reference Materials/Resources

This topic is 8749 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have been using Filemaker for many years and am proficient in HTML. I want to combine my skills and host my company's online store inside FMP. What is the best way to learn CDML? There doesn't seem to be much info on it. Will I be able to figure it out or does it require higher knowledge of programming?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Cael.

The way I learned it was actually to use Homepage to builld a off the shelf website, and then take it apart - keepinng a very close eye on the two FM libraries that come with Homepage. I think you can still download Homepage on a 30 day trial, and that it ships with the Developer version of FM. Nowaday, if I do an CDML I write it from BBEdit.

The Kinitting Factory demo work quitte well, and you can probably figure out some of the e-commerce issues from there.

One trick I should mention is that you can use the FMP-IF structure to use the same page as both the result of a successful find as well as report an error. It produces a cleaner interface with fewer HTML filles. It's obvious I suppose, but it took me a couple of days to get the hang of. :-)

Try the book "Database publishing with Filemaker Pro on the web" ISBN No.0-201-69665-7. With this you'll be able to download an online store example to take apart. Amazon sell this title.

Cheers Antz.

I'm in the process of developing format files and databases using FMP 4.0v3. Like you I feel quite proficient in FMPro (self taught) and I learned html (on-line thru the J.C. here). I write all my format files from scratch. Like you, I find that the FMP/cdml documentation is horrid. I am learning cdml as I go.