Import, match and replace

Anders

This topic is 8235 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello

I published this question a couple of weeks ago in the Import & Export-forum. But I got no respons, and take it nobody knew what to do. So I take a chance with you portal-guys instead. I am really eager to know if it is possible to solve my problem. I have no experience what so ever with portals. Here is my question:

I maintain a list of journals, which are managed by FMPro41 and Web Companion. A part of the list is created by importing an Excel-file provided by a database host. This list contains a lot of journals. For certain reasons I would like to be able to:

a) import match, and replace information in a record that in a certain field is identical whereas other fields may differ. But not change information in some of the fields. Every journal is supposed to have a unique identifier called ISSN (International Standard Serial Number).

[in my original posting, there was a little more text, but I can solve that part of my problem with two fields Created-date and Changed-date.]

Is this at all possible?

-Anders

PS

What I want to achieve is being able to add keywords to all records, not overwriting or erasing them everytime I get an update from our provider. It is just impossible to browse through thousands of records and comparing the old list to the new one, adding new journals and deleting those that are no longer provided. And thereafter put new keywords to the newly added journals. I get a new list three or four times a year.

As long as you can come up with a simple set of rules that a dumb program can follow to figure out which fields to keep and which to replace, it can be done.