Server Maintenance This Week. ×

import xml error

lgutherie

This topic is 5364 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am a newbie. My client uses FileMaker 6 and I am attempting to import data stored in mySQL via phpadmin to an XML file, then into FileMaker. On import to filemaker, I get the error:

XML parsing error:

Unknown element "cliniciansmember'

Line: 288

col number:26

I am attaching the XML file (saved as txt) in case someone will look at it and tell me my problem. I hope you can help. We are expecting around 900 registrants for a conference and would like to not have to enter them all by hand. : Thank you in advance for any help.

Linda

onlineregistrations_4_.txt

The XML you're trying to import needs to be in the FMPXMLRESULT grammer for FileMaker to know what to do with it. You can apply an XSLT stylesheet document to perform this translation in the Import XML Data Source dialog - the place for doing it is in the bottom half of the dialog.

You'll need to find or create an XSLT stylesheet that will perform this translation, though. Offhand I don't know of any for phpMyAdmin -> FileMaker.

If you know where the xml file is then you can use Import XML, with an XSL stylesheet, as Colin says. Your XML structure is pretty simple. I believe you can just use this generic XSL,* which is from the FileMaker Examples folder, on the FileMaker XSL Library page.

http://www.filemaker.com/products/technologies/xslt_library.html

*Complete with lengthy text from their legal department :-]

msdso_elem.xslt.zip

• 4 months later...
  • Newbies

Fenton - I just had the same issue. After several days of research into stylesheets with no luck finding one that worked, I found this thread and *voila* problem solved. Thanks ~ gotta love the online community.

• 1 year later...

Help please... I downloaded that style sheet.

It works... partially... but I think my xml has more layers than this style sheet expects.

Here is my XML:

false