Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Seemingly simple database question

This topic is 5875 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

First, let me apologize if my question is hard to follow. I'm completely new to FM (and databases in general) and find explaining my question a bit...difficult.

I'm trying to set up a database for my company. We sell a product for use with septic systems that has a PO, an owner of the site the system is for, a designer who designs the system our product is a part of and an installer that installs the system our product is a part of.

I originally set it up with 3 tables:

Table 1 has the main project interface layout that has fields for the PO, the lot owner and their info, and our model and date installed, as well as a tab for the designer company and info and tab for the installer company and info.

Table 2 is for designers, and basically set up as a contacts database where each company is a record with all it's information.

Table 3 is similar to table 2, except it's for installers.

The way I had it setup was that Table 1 had two relationships; 1 for the Designer company field and the other for Installer company field.

I setup portals so that choosing the designer/installer company from a pull down brought in all the information for those entities (address/phone/etc).

This works well.

My problem: I want to condense the 2 tables for designer/installer down into one general contacts table. The reason being that one company may do both designs and installs. Also, some of our project sites are owned by management firms, and so it would be nice to be able to access this firm's company via a pull down like I have with designers/installers. Therefor, I think it best to have all contacts on one table with a check box field showing their discipline. Then I could have that one contact table shared with the project table.