EULA Infringement

This topic is 5742 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I create and distribute a solution.

I have a client that is moving to a competitor as they require a service that i do not offer at present. Fair enough.

I received a request to export data from my solution and was happy to oblige.

Half way through exporting the data i realized that the email containing the request stated that the client had been told exporting the data would be complex due to the number of fields and layouts.

Problem is the email specified exactly the number of fields in the specific file.

This is very clear evidence that my competitor has cracked the solution.

This is of course the reason EULA exist so any advice on the best way to proceed with this as this solution is large and took 5 years to develop?

I am not a happy developer right now.

best

Patrick

Without knowing the actual contents of the EULA, or what you want as a best outcome, or what your tolerance for being involved in legal battles is, it's hard to offer best advice. Besides which, few of us here are actual lawyers.

I think your best bet is to retain the services of a lawyer to at least explore these questions. By and large legal action should be a last resort, since it's pricey; most of the time the only winners are the lawyers themselves. But a lawyer with EULA experience could at least advise as to what your options are - legal avenues, arbitration avenues, or simply walking away. Good, solid advice is worth the couple hundred bucks it'll cost.

You should at least try to assess the scope of the problem, anyway... some of which you can do yourself.

- does this competitor obtain any advantage by having exposure to your source code?

- is that advantage significant enough to damage your business?

- is the damage significant enough to warrant legal action?

- what legal actions are available to you through the EULA?

etc.

Interesting situation.