Server Maintenance This Week. ×

newbie license questions

cr930

This topic is 5566 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Sorry about the complete NEWB question and if I have posted in the wrong area :

Could somebody explain how filemaker's licensing works?

The main site talks about users and seats but for some reason I just don't get what the actual cost would be to me.

Here's what I am thinking.

Move a php/mysql (LAMP) based program to filemaker (reason ... development time and that I've been wanting to take up filemaker for quite a few years.)

The program I currently have been working on is a basically a project management setup with a few extras that are going to be increasing over the next 2 years.

End users will need access to either individual based apps on their machines or to the net.

I would like to eventually provide a portable iphone/pda solution.

Outside of development costs, what will this cost me in licensing?

(lolo, I hope I'm making sense )

thanks!

Assuming that the end users will be accessing the database with the FileMaker Pro client, you'll need 1 license of FileMaker Server and 1 license of FM Pro for each end user. While you're at it, get yourself a license of FMP Advanced.

FMS has the ability to create Custom Web Pages via PHP, XML, XSLT. Technically, if you want a strict web interface you can do it just with FMS. I would at least get one copy of FMP Advanced tho.

Never a need to apologize for asking a new user question. We all--except Wim--started at the beginning.

Generally speaking you need a license for FileMaker Server or FileMaker Server Advanced, whichever one you choose to use. And you need a license for each seat of FileMaker Pro you have installed.